France Day 6 – The Frog

*I’m on vacation, hopefully far away from a computer/paint brush/box/dirty apartment. So my blog is taking a vacation too. Back to June 2008, during my first trip to France with my shiny brand new passport and my shiny brand new French boyfriend. This was my first trip abroad and I”m surprised David didn’t dump me when we got home.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

 


I woke up really late because France has these blackout shutters, so I always thinks it’s still night time.

David thought I was just tired so he let me sleep. He even kept Leanne from jumping on the bed, because he was probably scared I would hurt the poor girl, but he doesn’t know I have a soft spot for kids. Even before my coffee. Especially quirky ones that may be Janis Joplin reincarnated.

 Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Nanou had already gone to work, but she had left something for me. The night before, I had admired her necklace and I guess instead of waiting around for me to steal it, she decided to give it to me. I wanted to give it back, she just met me and she doesn’t need to give me the jewelry from around her neck, but that seemed rude or ungrateful, plus it was super cute and I hadn’t brought any jewelry because I didn’t want to have to worry about anything. So that was a lovely way to start the day.



We went for a long hike around a lake behind the house. We were so chilled out we forgot we were supposed to be tourists and left the camera at home, so I don’t have any pictures except the ones that David’s brother sent.


Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
 
Regis showed me his black market wine and jay-walked on the way home. He also gets his cigars from Spain. Apparently laws are for everyone BUT policemen.
 

And I discovered why Nanou and I get along. She has a pet she likes to torture too. And she likes to take pictures of the torture she puts Roxy through just like I do. 
 Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
“Emily please don’t post that picture Nanou took of me on the worldwide web!”

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting


Sorry Rox!

Then it was dinnertime…… 

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Although Leanne couldn’t figure out why even though I was bigger than her I still hadn’t learned how to speak properly yet, she was still nice to me and held my hand and sat next to me in the car.

 

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

 

Leanne had what evey other kid in the world eats at restaurants. But she had her chicken nuggets and fries with mayonnaise. And she ate them with a fork 


We ordered up big family size platters of frogs legs. They were herb-encrusted and and they were YUMMY. Delicious. Of course, anything covered in garlic and butter tastes good Frogs have the light texture of fish but with the mellow flavor of chicken. The odd thing was, even though this was the first time I had tried them (so how would I know if I liked them or not), I didn’t order something else in case they were disgusting. It was like I just knew my mouth and frogs legs would get along.
.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
This looks good, no? 

 Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting



Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Leave a Reply

