France Day 3 Rain Rain Rain

*I’m on vacation, hopefully far away from a computer/paint brush/box/dirty apartment. So my blog is taking a vacation too. Back to June 2008, during my first trip to France with my shiny brand new passport and my shiny brand new French boyfriend. This was my first trip abroad and I”m surprised David didn’t dump me when we got home.


 

 

 
Not only is it raining, but since it is Sunday almost ALL the stores are closed in ALL OF FREAKIN’ FRANCE because the whole country is Catholic or something.

Because we are in a resort town and there are exceptions for places with tourists, the store across the street was open for a couple hours, but before we could go over and get a roasted chicken for lunch, (which I want to try because a woman who wrote a book about living in France went on and on about it) the store closed for the afternoon and we were too hungry to wait for it to re-open, so we had a lunch at the hotel restaurant, chilled for a while and then went to Frontignan, about forty minutes away, where David’s uncle Bernard and aunt Annie live.



  
 
Ok, let me just get this out of the way. MOM YOU WERE RIGHT. I should have listened to you and practiced French. Lord knows David gave me books, cd’s and finally put a French language program on his nintendo DS in an effort to get me to study. But did I??? NO. Because I am lazy. And French is hard to learn. It made me feel really stupid.. But you know what made me feel even MORE stupid? Not knowing basic simple phases and sitting there like a little kid while the adults talked.

I did read about ten non-fiction books about France, so it’s not like I am a complete idiot. And I do know how to say, “Je no parle pas Francais. Kind of.
 
When we arrived David’s drop dead sexy cousin, who is a police officer, was on her way to work. She was wearing the coolest police shirt. David’s uncle told me to call him TonTon which is “uncle” and he offered me something called Pastis. It’s a liquor made with anise. You poor it into a little glass and it’s amber colored, and then you add water and it turns into the color of milky tea. Then you add two little ice cubes. Screw wine…… this is my new apertif of choice. It’s like being a mad scientist doing a lab experiment. It tastes like black jelly beans.

After apertifs we had dinner, which was a full five course homemade French dinner. TonTon made this shredded carrot salad which I loved even though I normally hate carrots. We drove home, in the rain of course, 


 
 

Leave a Reply

