France Day 2 – Puppy Paella

*I’m on vacation, hopefully far away from a computer/paint brush/box/dirty apartment. So my blog is taking a vacation too. Back to June 2008, during my first trip to France with my shiny brand new passport and my shiny brand new French boyfriend. This was my first trip abroad and I”m surprised David didn’t dump me when we got home.



Things were looking much better the next morning. I mean, how can I be cranky when this is the view I wake up to? 





I was feeling much better and back to normal and the overwhelming urge to throw my laptop in a river had passed…. My first experience with “le jet lag” (a word which sounds much sexier then it actually is) was brutal.

We spent the morning at The Market which goes on and on forever. It has everything. Even little black puppies.










We left Arles and headed to Cap D’Adge, but first we stopped at a hyper market.


It’s a Safeway on meth. You have to go to a mini-mall when you go grocery shopping. You can go to a restaurant, buy clothes, get yer hair did and by plants all in one place. (edit 2012 we used to grocery shop at a place like this before we moved to this apartment. I hated it at first, but I got used to it.)


We drove about two hours and finally got to southern most part of France. You know, that hot, impossibly sunny place with all the nude beaches? Well guess what? It also rains here….


We tried. We really did. But it was too cold, so we went and swam in the pool. Then we went to find Paella.









When we sat down David was handed a real menu written in French.  Without me saying a word, I am handed the english menu. Notice how the english menu is in plastic protectors so I don’t get it all grubby with my dirty stubby ketchup stained american fingers.

 It’s like they can smell Bush on me or something. Pffft.  



But then they put this on the table, so I forgave them.




We went back to the hotel and the wi-fi actually worked at the actual table and chair in our room, Not the lobby, not outside on a river bank and not at the speed of a dial-up connection. So I was finally able to write a blog and post it.

Thank the fucking jesus lord fucking christ.

Bachelor Party:






Leave a Reply

