The Opposite of Glamping

What is a word for the opposite of Glam-ping? (Glamour Camping) House Camping? Squatting? Whatever it’s called. I’m sick of it.

Just when I finally got the guest room organized with my ghetto closets made out of a metal pole I found in the cave and the shower curtain rod I broke:

It was time to destroy it, pull everything out and
put it in the living room and hallway so we could paint.




David said he was “going Dexter” in the bathroom:

We went too light on the paint we chose for the walls, but anything is better then this ugly beige.

The weather in France finally broke me. It’s been “unusually” cold for the past three years and until it goes back to “normal” I’ve finally accepted that if I want to be warm, wear dresses or go swimming, I’m going to have to get on a plane and fly south until I reach a warmer country. Congratulations Paris. I give up. You win.

Beautiful summer day in June

Figuring out what to eat for dinner when we don’t have a stove…..

…only got more interesting when we had to make crepes in our bedroom while the paint dried in the kitchen.

We went out for Fete de la Musique after scrubbing the paint off our hands


Maza is freaked out and insisting that it’s cuddle time while I’m painting, getting her hair into everything, scratching the drop clothes and walking through paint and getting kitty paw prints on the floors. It was all I could yesterday not to paint a white stripe down her back and toss her outside for a skunk to fall in love with.

In the middle of all this, David bought a stove top and pulled out one of the kitchen cupboards and placed it precariously on top and asked me what I was going to make for dinner.

This is not “Emily Proof”

All I could think of was that I could boil water now. I don’t even remember what I used to cook before we moved. So I made pasta and David pressure cooked a chicken because I am scared of the pressure cooker.

Someday this will all be over and I won’t have to shuffle boxes and furniture from room to room to room every weekend. But for now, all I can do is put one foot in front of the other and “on y va”.

Leave a Reply

