My Mom is in the Hospital

I woke up this morning to see a Facebook wall post from my step-dad on my mom’s wall.

After Ann was admitted to the hospital they repeated some blood tests and found that her hemoglobin had dropped to 4.4 gm. In 22 years of medicine, this was the lowest I have ever seen in a person who was able to stand. Ann was having severe chest and head pain. She was moved from her hospital room down to the cardiac telemetry unit and blood was started. She now is getting her second unit of blood and already looks better. She is still in pain and on oxygen, but looks more stable. I am going to sleep for a few hours and return to her bedside. Still no idea why her blood got so low. We appreciate everyone’s prayers.

It’s 1 AM in the morning in California so I can’t call anyone. What do I do? Do I get on a plane? WTF?! Why did I choose to move so far away from my family?

4 Responses to “My Mom is in the Hospital”

  1. kristen Says:

    hi there. hope everything works out with your mom and i'm sorry to hear you received such bad news – especially over FB. Hang in there.

  2. eMerly Says:

    Thanks so much Kristen. I got to talk to her, so I feel better. And yes, finding out on FB made it extra bad.

  3. ParisBreakfasts Says:

    I am soooo so sorry Emerly.That's very tough news to handle.There is no right way to do these things when everyone is distraught and bouleverse as the Fr say :(Sending many good thoughts yr way.carolg

  4. eMerly Says:

    Thank you CarolG.It freaked me out and I wanted a real adult to tell me what to do. But the only real adult I trust to tell me what to do is my Mom. So, kinda a catch-22.

Leave a Reply

